Smartphones
Samsung Galaxy S26 vs Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
Verdict
Buy Samsung Galaxy S26 for one-handed comfort and a lower cited India launch price; buy Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra for the larger display, faster charging, and more versatile camera hardware. Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra is the more feature-rich choice, while Samsung Galaxy S26 is the simpler compact option. Both offer seven years of updates, but Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra has a reported red-tint display issue.
Pros
- Samsung Galaxy S26 is compact, comfortable for one-handed use, and easy to grip. [2]
- Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra offers a larger, brighter 6.9-inch display with a 120 Hz refresh rate. [4][5]
- Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra supports faster 60W wired charging than Samsung Galaxy S26’s 25W wired charging. [3][6][7]
Cons
- Samsung Galaxy S26 uses relatively slow 25W wired charging, and one editorial review also judged its 15W wireless charging slow. [2]
- Samsung Galaxy S26 camera quality was judged slightly behind competing compact flagships. [8]
- Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra lacks built-in magnets needed for Qi2 charging. [9]
- Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra has a reported red-tint display problem that Samsung acknowledged as a software issue. [10][11]
Where reviewers agree
Who it suits
Who should skip it
Head to head
| Area | Samsung Galaxy S26 | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Battery | Samsung Galaxy S26 has a 4,300 mAh battery and supports wireless charging; reviewers judged its battery life better than the Pixel 10 Pro’s. [1][7] | Not covered by the sources found. | Unclear |
| Camera | Samsung Galaxy S26 has 50 MP primary, 12 MP ultrawide, and 10 MP telephoto cameras with 3x optical zoom; reviewers judged quality slightly behind competing compact flagships. [1][7][8] | Not covered by the sources found. | Unclear |
| Charging | Samsung Galaxy S26 supports 25W wired charging and reaches 55% in 30 minutes; one editorial review considered its 25W wired and 15W wireless charging slow. [2][7] | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra supports 60W wired and 25W wireless charging, but lacks built-in magnets needed for Qi2 charging. [3][6][9] | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Comfort | Samsung Galaxy S26 is considered comfortable for one-handed use and easy to grip. [2] | Not covered by the sources found. | Unclear |
| Display | Samsung Galaxy S26 has a 6.3-inch Dynamic AMOLED 2X display with a 120 Hz refresh rate. [7] | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra has a 6.9-inch 120 Hz display reaching 2,600 nits peak brightness, but uses an 8-bit panel with FRC and lacks high-frequency PWM dimming. [4][5][9] | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Durability | Not covered by the sources found. | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra has IP68 water and dust resistance; a reviewer found its construction and IP rating held up through several falls and liquid spills. [6] | Unclear |
| Known issues | Samsung Galaxy S26 users report battery drain, overheating, unexpected shutdowns, software bugs, freezing, restarts, and app crashes; cracked screens can also affect touch sensitivity and permit moisture or dust entry. [12] | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra has a reported red-tint problem that Samsung acknowledged as a software issue after a delay. [10][11] | Unclear |
| Performance | A tested Samsung Galaxy S26 recorded an AnTuTu score of 3,113,347. [7] | Not covered by the sources found. | Unclear |
| Software | Samsung Galaxy S26 runs One UI 8.5 on Android 16 and is promised seven years of updates. [1][2] | Not covered by the sources found. | Unclear |
| Value | Not covered by the sources found. | Not covered by the sources found. | Unclear |
| Audio | Not covered by the sources found. | Not covered by the sources found. | Unclear |
| Build | Samsung Galaxy S26 weighs 167 grams, is 7.2 mm thick, and uses an Armor Aluminum 2 frame with Gorilla Glass Victus 2 on the front and back. [2][7] | Not covered by the sources found. | Unclear |
| Cooling | Not covered by the sources found. | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra uses a redesigned vapor chamber intended to improve heat dissipation across a larger surface area. [6] | Unclear |
| Service support | Not covered by the sources found. | Not covered by the sources found. | Unclear |
Trade-offs
- Choosing Samsung Galaxy S26 gives you a more compact, one-handed design, while choosing Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra gives you a larger display and a more extensive camera system. [2][4][5][7]
- Choosing Samsung Galaxy S26 means accepting 25W wired charging, while choosing Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra brings 60W wired charging but no built-in magnets for Qi2 charging. [3][6][7][9]
- Choosing Samsung Galaxy S26 avoids the specifically reported Ultra red-tint issue, while choosing Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra offers a larger, brighter display but carries that reported issue. [4][5][10][11]
- Choosing Samsung Galaxy S26 costs less based on the cited India launch and listing prices, while choosing Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra means paying the cited premium for the 256GB/12GB RAM version. [1][9][13][14]
Which one for whom
- One-handed use: Samsung Galaxy S26. Pick Samsung Galaxy S26 for its compact design, comfortable one-handed use, easy grip, 167-gram weight, and 7.2 mm thickness. [2][7]
- Fast charging: Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra. Pick Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra for 60W wired and 25W wireless charging, rather than Samsung Galaxy S26’s 25W wired charging. [3][6][7]
- Large, bright display: Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra. Pick Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra for its 6.9-inch 120 Hz display and 2,600 nits peak brightness. [4][5]
Sources
- Samsung Galaxy S26 series prices hiked in India, now starts over Rs 1 lakh; S26 Ultra top variant crosses Rs 2 lakh | 91mobiles.com91mobiles.com · published · checked
- Samsung Galaxy S26 Review: Strong Performer, But Not Without Flawssammyguru.com · published · checked
- Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra91mobiles.com · published · checked
- Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra Long-Term Review: Still Great, But Falling Behindgadgetbytenepal.com · published · checked
- Galaxy S26 Ultra Review: Slim, Smart, and Crazy Battery Lifedroid-life.com · published · checked
- Galaxy S26 Ultra Review: Privacy Display Proves Hardware Still Matters in an AI World - CNETcnet.com · published · checked
- Samsung Galaxy S2691mobiles.com · published · checked
- Samsung Galaxy S26 reviewgsmarena.com · published · checked
- Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra reviewgsmarena.com · published · checked
- Samsung acknowledges the Galaxy S26 Ultra red screen problem, a fix is underwaygsmarena.com · published · checked
- Why is Galaxy S26 Ultra's huge screen flaw taking so long to fix?techadvisor.com · published · checked
- Samsung Galaxy S26 Series Problems in 2026 – What Users Are Facing & How to Fix Them | London's Leading Repair & Tech Specialistsirepairzone.co.uk · published · checked
- Samsung Galaxy S26 pricing and offers in Indiacroma.com · publish date not stated · checked
- Samsung Galaxy S26 5G (Black, 512 GB) - 12GB RAM & ...flipkart.com · publish date not stated · checked
Research Samsung Galaxy S26 vs Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra now
Verdicts are generated from public reviews and may be wrong; check the cited sources before you buy. No one pays for a verdict or a placement. How we research.